13 Facts About Canada

Here are 13 facts from the files of the Canadian Tourism Commission:

Credit: Thinkstock – jenifoto

• Occupying the northern half of North America, Canada is the second-largest country in the world (after Russia.)

• From east to west, the country encompasses six time zones.

• Canada shares a 5,525-mile boundary with the U.S.

• The Atlantic Ocean hugs the coastline to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west.

• The country is made up of 10 provinces and three territories.

• When it comes to geography – diversity is the word. Fertile plains, vast mountain ranges, lakes, rivers, wilderness forests and Arctic tundra to the far north.

• Canada has a population of about 32.5 million.

• The official currency is the Canadian dollar.

• In random order, the major cities are Victoria, Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal, Ottawa, Calgary, Edmonton and Halifax.

• The country enjoys four distinct seasons and six time zones.

• English and French are the two official languages. English is the mother tongue of 59 per cent of the population.

• Canada has 11 national holidays: New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day (Monday preceding May 25), Canada Day (July 1 or July 2 if July 1 is a Sunday, Labour Day (first Monday of September), Thanksgiving (second Monday of October), Remembrance Day (November 11),
Christmas Day and Boxing Day (December 26)and new to 2008, February 18 is Family Day.

• The maple leaf is the national symbol.

Check out the official web site of the Canadian Tourism Commission